How Do You Get a Motorcycle Permit in Virginia


Page Contents:

01. How do you get a motorcycle permit (and license) in Virginia?
02. What is on the motorcycle permit test of Virginia?
03. Motorcycle laws, rules, and regulations to ride on-road in Virginia
04. Motorcycle laws, rules, and regulations to ride off-road in Virginia
05. How to get a motorcycle license permit in any state


01. How do you get a motorcycle permit (and license) in Virginia?

  • General steps and requirements to get a motorcycle permit: The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) ask that all motorbike or motorcycle drivers must have either: (1) an instruction permit for motorcycles or (2) a valid Class M license.
  • Individuals applying for a motorcycle license to add the class M designation to an existing driver’s license in Virginia are required to: (1) hold a learner’s permit for at least 30 days and (2) pass the required tests. 
  • Getting a motorcycle licence permit will require that you pass the following tests: (1) a vision screening, (2) a written motorcycle knowledge test, and (3) a test for motorcycle skills proficiency. 
  • You may receive a motorcycle operator's license without taking the road skills test in the event that you take an approved course in basic motorcycle safety. 
  • Applicants less than 19 years old must hold their learner’s permit for a minimum of 9 months.
  • In order to receive a license for motorcycle operation only, applicants must also: (1) pass the driver’s license knowledge test and (2), if less than 19 years old, pass an approved driver education program.
  • Motorcycle riding training classes: (1) are generally 2-6 weeks in duration, (2) include classroom instruction, and (3) include motorcycle operator driver training on a closed course.
  • To get a motor cycle permit you will need to show certain documentation, we recommend that you: (1) Call ahead to find out exactly what is needed. (2) Bear in mind that required documentation may be different for minors.
  • Taking sample pre permit practice knowledge tests before your appointment for the official motorbike written exam is highly recommended. Some states require that anyone failing the motor cycle license exam: (1) may not attempt to pass it twice in one day and (2) may be charged a second fee for the second attempt.
  • In most states, the written motor cycle license permit knowledge test covers: (1) safe riding, (2) traffic signs and signals, and (3) motor vehicle laws that apply to motorcycles.


02. What is on the motorcycle permit test of Virginia? Download the complete list of sample questions and correct answers to practice this full-length motorcycle driving license permit online practice test and pass the written exam at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

This motorbike and motorcycle on-line practice test is the full-length version of the "Free Tests." It has more questions, more robust features, and a slightly different layout. If you have already downloaded the complete list of questions and correct answers, then you can access this practice test with the password you received in the download. You can take this practice test as many times as you want. To guarantee your success at passing the official motorcycle written test on the first try, you must pass this practice test at least three (3) times. When you are ready to start, type in your password and provide your name, email, and zip code. If the "start" button is not displayed below, simply reload or refresh your page. If you do NOT have a password, you may practice with the "Free Tests" OR download the complete list of questions and correct answers to get your password, click here for details.

03. Motorcycle laws, rules, and regulations to ride on-road in Virginia 

  • Endorsements from other states accepted: Yes
  • Eye protection: Required by law unless equipped with windscreen
  • Handlebar maximum height: No restriction/s
  • Headlight use during daytime: Modulating headlight permitted
  • Helmet speakers: No
  • Helmet/s: Required by law
  • Insurance: Compulsory Liability - Minimum Limits - 25/50/20 - Insurance or $400 uninsured motor vehicle fee required by law.
  • Mirrors: One required by law
  • Muffler: No restriction/s
  • Passenger age: No restriction/s
  • Passenger footrest: Required by law if carrying a passenger
  • Passenger seat: Required by law if carrying a passenger
  • Periodic safety inspection: Required by law
  • Radar detector: Prohibited to use or possess
  • Rider education waiver: Skill test
  • Sharing lanes with another motorcycle: No. It is unlawful to drive any motor vehicle, including any motorcycle, side-by-side of another vehicle in a lane designed for one vehicle.
  • Sound level: No restriction/s
  • Splitting lanes through traffic: No. It is unlawful to drive any motor vehicle, including any motorcycle, in between lanes or lines of vehicles.
  • State funded rider education: Option available for all eligible applicants
  • Turn signals: No restriction/s


04. Motorcycle laws, rules, and regulations to ride off-road in Virginia
 
  • Eye protection: No restriction/s
  • Headlight use during daytime: No restriction/s
  • Helmet/s: Required by law
  • Muffler: No restriction/s
  • Operator license: No restriction/s
  • Operator minimum age: Under 16 can only operate if 90cc or less. Under 12 can only operate if 70cc or less.
  • Registration: No restriction/s
  • Rider education certification: No restriction/s
  • Sound level: No restriction/s
  • Spark arrestor: No restriction/s
  • Taillight: No restriction/s
  • Trails program: Option not available
  • Vehicle title: Required by law.


05. How to get a motorcycle license permit in any state